Mindful Healthy Eating

A lot of my friends have become obsessive about the whole idea of “clean” or “Paleo” eating. Being that I am a DIABETIC VEGETARIAN, this notion is quite complex to me. I already have to limit my carb intake and although I wish I could say that EVERYTHING that goes into my mouth is “clean,” it most definitely is not.

That doesn’t mean I don’t make a conscious effort to stick to my health plan (let’s face it…diets don’t last! Health plans do!) and make sure that I am doing what is best for MY body and disease.

Usually, I make REALLY awesome baked treats and meals that are Carb Conscious and I often refer to other great Diabetic blogs like Lindsay’s to get inspired about my cooking and baking.

I like to get really creative in my kitchen as it is a good money saver.

A typical breakfast for me includes a superfood green smoothie.

A lot of my friends are into juicing right now, but I am wholeheartedly an advocate of smoothies as I find that most of the nutrients are lost when you juice. Why would you want to take away all those awesome benefits and double your calories AND still end up hungry?

Not this girl! Gimme all that fiber!

Image

Playing off of the idea of Tropical Smoothie’s Island Green smoothie, I decided to make up my own concoction with my incredible Ninja. I call this delicious green powerhouse the “Spi-kaley!” (If you get this reference then you love 80’s Cult Movies as much as I do!)

The Spi-Kaley

1/2 cup of frozen mango

1/2 cup of frozen pineapple

6-10 baby spinach leaves

3 kale leaves

1/4 cup of water

1/4 cup of ice

You’ll find that the pineapple and mango are natural sweeteners. Make sure not to add sugar to this recipe as it takes away from the incredible and natural flavors of the smoothie. I used to drink coffee EVERY morning before I could even open an email. I have found myself more energetic because of this smoothie and I feel great knowing that I know EXACTLY what I am putting into my body.

Hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I do.

Until next time!

xo

2 thoughts on “Mindful Healthy Eating

  1. Ani D says:

    I would definitely agree with you!! Paleo is strange to me because I am in the transition to vegetarian and juicing seems like an expensive waste of time haha So much produce to make so little juice.

    • andreaurrea says:

      Yes! Exactly! And while some people are smart enough to save the pulp and get creative with it…the fact is most people end up tossing it! You are basically throwing your money into the trash. I would rather eat as much of the fruits and veggies as I can! 🙂

Leave a Reply

