Bad Ending to a Great Weekend

I’m going to derail a bit and talk about something that doesn’t involve DIY, Pets, Weddings or the assorted girl-related topics.

Of all the things I love, basketball is a HUGE part of my life. It is the one sport that my dad and I could sit together and watch without getting in a screaming match about what team was better.

(I’m a Mets fan, he’s a Yankees bandwagoner. Side note: we are from Queens so this is THE ultimate betrayal.)

Yesterday was a pretty upsetting day in the the mutual bond of the Urrea clan. You see, even though I hail from New York, we relocated to Orlando when I was a wee baby. New York will forever be engrained in my heart, but I have pretty severe soft spot for Orlando.

Here I am, sitting at my desk trucking along my mundane job when my phone lights up informing me of a text. I ignore it and go back to my job until I start seeing small signs of one HUGE, UGLY, BAD sports day in my life. I have just been informed that the franchise I have legitimately been following since childhood has decided to fire my favorite sports coach. One Stan Van Gundy has been let go. Along with another said Otis Smith who has been the downfall of our organization since those precious 2009 Finals.

I know what you’re thinking. “BUT YOU HAVE DISNEY!” But, Disney is no NBA. Every once in a while, you just have to leave the tourist mentality and behold the beauty of the Sports Nation.

To put it bluntly, this was a clandestine and unappreciated move in the eyes of Magic fans. Our city has become a joke in terms of NBA standards (that’s saying a lot considering the NBA is a joke in itself.) We have let one player dictate every move and our pride has been thrown out the window.

I’ll miss you, Stan. Until the franchise figures out how to run a basketball team. My loyalty might stand with you.

But, you have DISNEY.

Leave a Reply

